Resources for the world-building of Hard-SF aliens, planets, and tech

• 1 Replies

Francis Buck

« on: June 06, 2014, 03:51:34 am »
So, as many of you know, I'm an aspiring writer. While I always have one particular project I'm working on, I also have several – three in particular – projects that are sort of long in the making, things I work on for fun but don't intend to actually WRITE until later on, in the way that Tolkien or RSB worked on their respective series for years before finally jumping in and writing it. The three series in particular are an epic fantasy saga, a semi-near future sci-fi trilogy (later 21st century), and a two-part “hard space opera” of sorts taking place at least a thousand years in the future. It is that last one, a duology tentatively titled Anthropica, that I'm primarily making this thread for.

NOTE: Even though this topic is ostensibly about writing, the actual content of it is, in my opinion, more scientifically inclined, at least in so far as the nature of the information I'm seeking. I'm seeking advice more on hypothetical sciences than I am in actual writing advice.

The thing is, even though I love sci-fi media (and science in general), I've never really immersed myself in the genre, the way I have with fantasy for example, until recently. The purpose of this thread, for me, is to seek out resources and reading material on the writing of hard sci-fi, particularly far future stuff.

In particular, I want to learn more about the world-building process behind celestial bodies, things like what types of planets could exist, what their days and nights (or neither) would be like, what their solar systems them could be like, the types of ecosystems that would exist on such planets with different conditions from our own, the effects of gravity and faster than light travel...all that kind of stuff, of which my knowledge ranges from “fairly decent” to “no clue”.