BFK's Music Corner

• 26 Replies

BeardFisher-King

• Old Name
  • The 8-Trackless Steppe
    • View Profile
« on: January 27, 2018, 04:32:42 pm »
I am starting this thread for anyone who wants to delve a little deeper into the aesthetics and/or the "Tekne" of the music in which he/she is interested. "Tekne" talk could range from the tech of musical instruments (love the Moog synthesizer!) to virtuosity to music theory.

I'm a very inactive amateur pianist these days, but I still have some  vestigial chops. I think my ear is improving, simply due to the fact that I listen to so much music. Right now, I'm listening to a compilation of Mozart piano concertos pretty steadily and I'm gaining an appreciation for the brilliance of the classical formal structure. Three movements; fast-slow-fast; each movement states a theme, develops it, then returns to it. That's a wild oversimplification, of course, and there are other formal structures (suite based on dance forms, e.g.). But one always knows where one is and where one is going. Timeless music.
"The heart of any other, because it has a will, would remain forever mysterious."

-from "Snow Falling On Cedars", by David Guterson

Madness

• Administrator
  • Old Name
  • Conversational Batman
  • Strength on the Journey - Journey Well
    • View Profile
    • The Second Apocalypse
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2018, 04:31:11 pm »
Not sure I could keep up with such a conversation anymore but...

- I started with piano for a year and a half, got skilled enough to play limited recitals at 9.
- Did violin for a year at 10-11, played a bunch of concerts with the other students under my teacher.
- Did various orchestral percussion camps for a couple summers.
- A different instrument/section almost every semester I was enrolled in high school: percussion, trombone, alto-sax, flute, trumpet, violin again.