• 6 Replies

Cüréthañ

• Moderator Extraordinaire
  • Old Name
  • Pendulous Fallacy
  • Wizard IRL
    • View Profile
« on: February 16, 2014, 09:10:18 am »
Found this reply on a frontpage reddit thread the other day.  Made me suspect it was Scott, which I posited in a jokey reply.  Naturally I got downvoted because all the other redditors wanted to believe it was GRRM (despite the fact that GRRM doesn't FB or twitter), lol.  Anyways, just reposting here for shits and giggles.

[–]tthrowawayme 2616 points 3 days ago
Hi Totalbiscuit,
I don't know if you're going to be reading these replies, but I made an account just for this message, in case it helps.
I am a published author through a major publishing company. I have quite a few books out now, so I guess I've achieved something like your level of success, although it's hard to compare apples and oranges. But anyway, I've had enough to know where you're coming from.
I used to interact with my readers a great deal. I did Facebook and Twitter, had an extensive web page, ran tons of contests, etc. I also regularly read forum comments about my books, telling myself that it was part of the job. How could I please my readers if I didn't know what they wanted? If there was a consensus on something, and it didn't derail my main storyline, shouldn't I give it to them?
So I read. And read. And read. Until the day I woke up and realized: not only did I not want to read anymore, I didn't want to WRITE anymore, either.
Because you're right. There's only one of you or me, but there's thousands of them. And they all have opinions, which is absolutely their right, no question. But just as they have the right to their opinion, I also have rights--like not to have to listen to it. A person can only take the bombardment for so long without going quite, quite mad, and I'm close enough as it is.